Home > Lost, Mind > Cruise Control

Cruise Control

I am determined to make determinations. I will stay on course and continue to do what I do. This is my process of progressing properly.  If this is the plan, I plan on sticking to it.  I will cruise this course to conclusion. The last couple of days my head has felt like it’s in a vice. My eyes feel pressed deep into my brain. It has been hard to concentrate, and more difficult to write these words. To elucidate my state of mind, let me illustrate my absentmindedness.  I set out this morning knowing where I was going, while my mind was a million different places at once.  I walked past where I should have turned.   Unconsciously crossing the congestion, I must’ve stopped when I had to, but not when I needed to. Was correcting my course the correct course of action?  It’s easy to just go with the flow, not even knowing where the flow is going.  When I came to and realized my mistake I was two blocks too far gone.  I wasn’t thinking and I went further than I had thought of going.  I was in a place I hadn’t planned on being, a place I didn’t belong.  Looking down at my feet, blaming them for leading me there, I analyzed my position. I knew where I was in relation to where I wanted to be.  I knew this place in time and space, I had a choice. I thought to myself which way should I go now. I could double back to the point in my past where I was supposed to turn, or I could turn now and turn again.  To make this assessment I would have to not only know where I was but also where I wanted to go.  Shutting out the countless distractions of the other city dweller’s actions, the old man telling me something forgotten, I concluded my course. Ignoring his inquisition I uttered I know. I wasn’t meaning to be rude, but I did know. I knew which way I had to go to correct the course I had corroded. I was going to cohere to that correction. So I made the right turn there and the additional right turn then. I walked until there was nothing left for me to do. I was back where I belonged; I was right where I needed to be.

Categories: Lost, Mind Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

